join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

stuff and nonsense ::
2005-05-29
tain't nothin'

Have you ever heard an offhanded comment from someone that made you question your whole relationship with them? And maybe their relationship with the universe? Just a few words strung together that make you think "what kind of human IS this? And why are they near me?"

Things like:
"I'd love my wife more if she had bigger boobs."
or "John Travolta is way super sexy!"
or "Mexicans take all the good jobs."
or "This scientology stuff really makes a lot of sense."
or even "Cathy is the funniest comic strip ever!"

I find it really difficult to respect someone after they spout off such paradigm-shifting nonsense. But my discomfort must be NOTHING compared to the angst of the patients of gynecologist Dr. W. David Hager.

Dr. Hager serves on the FDA advisory committee, where "his ardent evangelical piety anchors his staunch opposition to emergency contraception, abortion and premarital sex." Okay, fine. Bummer that this guy is making decisions that affect my reproductive health, but I've accepted that I'm in the minority.

HERE's where he it gets weird: his ex-wife says he sodomized her without her consent on dozens of occasions because, and I quote, "He would say, 'Oh, I didn't mean to have anal sex with you; I can't feel the difference."

Did I mention this guy is a gynecologist?

Next time you go up in the stirrups, ladies, please make sure your doctor knows an ass from a hole in the ground. Apparently the nation's top-ranking gyno does not.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: email :: design :: host ::